All Pakistan Music Conference (APMC), Karachi, a not-for-profit registered under the Societies Act 1860, came into existence to give a much-needed boost to the traditional arts in our society. APMC, Karachi, takes on this mantle because of the belief that the Arts are not only integral to the collective expression of a people but are also mainstays of social cohesion in a society.
At APMC, Karachi we view our work as not mere entertainment, but as a critical catalyst for the benefit and development of our society, its relevance even greater in today’s fractured times. Through our free and open events, we also hope to break the social barriers in our city and provide it with a culture of music our generations can be proud of.

Vision and Aims

APMC-Karachi was setup with a vision to preserve and revive the classical arts of music and dance in Karachi. By mending the very fabric of these classical traditions, in a region that has been immersed in culture and the arts for over 400 years, APMC-Karachi aspires to achieve the following core objectives:

  • Develop a rich & ongoing cultural tradition around the classical arts in Karachi
  • Enhance the learning, practice, viewing, listening, and appreciation of classical arts
  • Create a community that values its classical arts & works to preserve them

Working on both ends of producing ‘supply‘ and creating ‘demand’, APMC has created platforms to regularly showcase stalwarts and senior practitioners, as well as young upcoming performers, while the newly formed NauTarang platform, under its aegis, hosts students of traditional performing arts. Other than working for better recognition and exposure for our traditional practitioners, through the release of material, as well as, finding new platforms through its links with local & international cultural organizations, APMC, Karachi has partnered with and involved various local community groups, including academic institutions to increase outreach -cutting across ethnic, socioeconomic, generational divides.

Executive Council

Members of the Executive Council
  • Dr Asma Ibrahim – Chairperson
  • Mr. Khusro Mumtaz – Treasurer 
  • Mr. Daniyal Ahmed –Secretary
  • Mr. Faraz Hussain¬ – Member
  • Mr. Junaid Wahab Zuberi – Member
  • Dr. Kaleemullah Lashari – Member
  • Dr. Asma Ibrahim – Member
  • Ms. Seema Ilahi Baloch– Member
  • Ms. Durriya Kazi-Member
  • Mr. Taimoor Khan Mumtaz– Member
  • Mr. Zulqarnain Farooq– Member
Founding Members
  • Dr. Ghazala Aziz
  • Mrs. Huma Khaishgi
  • Mr. Shareef Awan
  • Mr. Humayun Ansari
  • Ms. Sabeen Mahmud
  • Mr. Zaheer Kidvai
  • Mr. S. M. Shahid
  • Mr. Omar Kasmani
  • Mr. Anwar Maqsood
  • Ms. Ayla Raza